none
Biztalk not picking up the file from Receive port/location/directory

Question

• I am a rookie on Biztalk and just experimenting...Any help from veterans/experts is wholeheartedly appreciated. Per the tutorial I am running I have done all the steps correctly. the application has compiled and I was able to config & administer it successfully thru BT admin console. I created a sample orchestration using FILE | Pass thru ffor XML file types encoded with UTF-8. When I start the application it is NOT picking up the input file from the input file location. Any idea what I am dooing wrong? Your help is greatly appreciated

Sunday, July 11, 2010 8:53 PM

Answers

• Check the Event log.
    Could be a permissions problem on the receive location, or a file mask mismatch, or as Breezy states the host instance is not started.
    (p.s. an in-process Host instance is just a windows service and can be set to start automatically)

Monday, July 12, 2010 1:32 AM
    Answerer
  • Besides checking that host instance is started and receive location is enabled. Please verify that file is not read only. Read-only or system files are not picked up by the File receive adapter.  

The File receive adapter also does not pick up files for which it has insufficient rights and files that cannot be exclusively locked. To correct these problems, verify the security settings of the receive location and ensure that any files present are not being held by other processes. Ensure that the service account for the BizTalk Host that picks up the file must have proper permissions

You can also use the Microsoft FileMon utility to monitor what’s going on.

Regards,

Monday, July 12, 2010 1:43 AM
  • Hi,

Please check followings:

1.  The host instance associated with file adapter receive is running.  Make sure receive location is enabled.

2. The user associated with host instance has sufficient rights to the file location

3. The file is not read only.