How do I extract data from XML file into SQL table?

Question

• How do I extract the data from an XML file and append it to my SQL table?  I am new to XML, SQL and Visual Studio, with only a MS Access background.  However the XML data is too much for Access to handle and I am having a very hard time finding a successful method to append the XML data to an SQL table.  Thank you!
    • Edited by MyMac Sunday, March 07, 2010 4:40 AM
    Sunday, February 21, 2010 5:01 AM

Answers

• Look at this thread. You'll find the point to start from
    http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/Vsexpressvb/thread/0e1081bd-93eb-44fd-b17d-5d016cf9c732
    please, mark this as answer if it is THE answer
    ----------------
    Diego Cattaruzza
    Microsoft MVP - Visual Basic: Development
    blog: http://community.visual-basic.it/Diego
    web site: http://www.visual-basic.it
    Sunday, February 21, 2010 9:27 AM
  • How do I extract the data from an XML file and append it to my SQL table?  I am new to XML, SQL and Visual Studio, with only a MS Access background.  However the XML data is too much for Access to handle and I am having a very hard time finding a successful method to append the XML data to an SQL table.  Thank you!
    http://www.codeproject.com/KB/cpp/parsefilecode.aspx
    Just Be Humble Malange!
    Sunday, February 21, 2010 2:01 PM
  • Thank you All for your friendly help.

Hi sparrowce,

Welcome to MSDN forums!

Besides, here are some tutorials which may be helpful to you.

Thread: How to read/write XML file in VB.NET?
    http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/forums/en-US/vbgeneral/thread/02e3ffef-03b0-4979-bc10-1ac3d900f33d

Thread: There are four methods to make one basic Data Access application(Previous, Next, First. Last, Update, Delete, Insert, Select, Save) for you to check and follow.
    http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/vbgeneral/thread/582c13b5-720f-4002-9ed4-da42fdf26b3c

Best regards,
    Martin Xie