SQL query using a Variable with WHERE clause

Question

• I am creating an application to help me with my Income Tax Return. I have a form with 3 textboxes that are bound to three columns in a table. The first textbox requires my input of the tax year and is linked to the year column of the table. Since that information will be a variable what is the syntax in my query to provide the Allowance information from the Allowance column in the  Table for textbox 2 and the Income Limit information from the Limit column in the Table for textbox 3. I have tried the following:

SELECT Year,Allowance,Limit FROM dbo.TaxYear WHERE Year=2010.

This syntax works perectly, but my efforts with substituting 2010 with a variable have been disastrous.  I am a beginner and I would be very grateful for some help with this problem.  I have tried various suggestions on other forums but I have not fully understood the procedures such as declaration of variables etc. Please help.
    Thursday, February 25, 2010 10:18 AM

Answers

• dim Youryear as integer = 2010
    "SELECT Year,Allowance,Limit FROM dbo.TaxYear WHERE Year '" + youryear.tostring + "'"

or

"SELECT Year,Allowance,Limit FROM dbo.TaxYear WHERE Year = @year"
    yourcommand.parameters.addwithvalue("@year", youryear)

|
     |
    \ /         :-)

FREE
    DEVELOPER TOOLS     CODE     PROJECTS

DATABASE CODE GENERATOR
    DATABASE / GENERAL  APPLICATION TUTORIAL
    Upload Projects to share or get help on and post the generated links here in the forum
    www.srsoft.us
    • Marked as answer by Jeff Shan Thursday, March 04, 2010 2:15 AM
    Thursday, February 25, 2010 2:00 PM
  • Presuming you have used the designer wizards to create your form and textboxes there is no need to query the database.  You could simply apply a filter to your bindingsource, e.g:

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click

TaxYearBindingSource.Filter = "Year =" & YearTextBox.Text

End Sub