none
Getting dpc watchdog violation when Computer wakes from sleep mode. windows 8 Developer

Question

• I wasn't sure if anyone else was having this problem. when I open my laptop I have a blue screen with a :( face stating that computer needs to restart and says something like. Watchdog error computer needs to restart. I'm new to all this so if anyone could explain to me what this means and how I can go about fixing it.
    Thursday, September 15, 2011 10:55 AM

All replies

• hey lobato, i have the same problem. only it was while I just stated my laptop not from sleep mode. now its all fine. i hope :p
    Friday, September 16, 2011 8:43 AM
  • I wasn't sure if anyone else was having this problem. when I open my laptop I have a blue screen with a :( face stating that computer needs to restart and says something like. Watchdog error computer needs to restart. I'm new to all this so if anyone could explain to me what this means and how I can go about fixing it.
    I have this problem as well. It happened 3-4 times already. I cannot figure out pattern of occurrence though. Seems like it happens randomly. Also it occurs not only when it wakes up from sleep but even during regular boot.
    • Edited by zyx100 Saturday, September 17, 2011 1:20 PM
    • Proposed as answer by Webby414 Tuesday, September 20, 2011 12:55 PM
    • Unproposed as answer by Webby414 Tuesday, September 20, 2011 12:55 PM
    Saturday, September 17, 2011 1:18 PM
  • This just happened to me, while coming out of sleep.

I found this blog post that may help: http://www.itknowledge24.com/blog/windows-8/windows-8-developer-preview-bsod-dpc-watchdog-violation/

The third link on the Additional Information section is the DPC Latency Checker.