Your current security settings do not allow this file to be downloaded.

Question

•  

Vista Home Premium:

I have been emailing XPS documents for several months.Today had a surprise when I was checking my send box in Windows Mail, when I selected an XPS attachment in an email I had sent, I could not view the attachment. First the "Mail Attachment" box opened with the correct file name, but when I Click "open" , the Yellow triangle with the exclamation mark and the error message "Your current security settings do not allow this file to be downloaded" appears.

I now no longer have any faith in the XPS system what use is it if pages cannot be emailed or viewed and now I have to go back through months of work to re-email all my xps doc's as jpegs.

I have tried to eliminate all of windows mail and internet explorer's security settings but cannot view any of my xps doc email attachments no matter what I do, I am going to have to toss XPS and go back to PDF and I am very annoyed!

Does any body know how to fix this!
    Friday, April 25, 2008 4:47 PM

Answers

•            I've figured out how to download XPS Documents goto windows mail/tools/options and untick the box "Do not allow attachments to be saved or opened that could potentially be a virus."

Ridiculous of course as internet exporer 7 in Vista will allow Word documents, PDF documents, Paint , Excel and Powerpoint to be downloaded yet won't allow a format invented by Microsoft for Vista to be downloaded with out unticking this box therefore one must assume that the XPS documents format must have security holes of some sort! That's not the case it's secure, just plain dumb programming in Windows Mail, FIXIT MICROSOFT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Also when the document I am trying to read is already in "my documents" I still can't open the XPS Document without unticking the virus box!