none
How to edit DQS project?

    Question

  • Once DQS project is executed once it then always opens either at stage 3 (Manage and View results) or stage 4 (Export). So far we were not able to go back to Stage 1 (Map). So how can we modify existing DQS project? What if we want to add one more column to the process or apply a different domain to a column?
    Tuesday, September 24, 2013 12:04 AM

All replies

  • Hello,

    Once you finish a DQS project by clicking Finish in the Export stage, you cannot change/modify the DQS project in terms of changing the mapping or selecting another KB to cleanse. You can only open the DQS project to review the results in the Manage and view results stage and then Export the resultant data.

    If you want to be able to change a DQS project later or to start over again, you must not click Finish in the Export stage. Instead after exporting the results, click Close to just close the DQS project.

    Thanks
    Vivek
    (SQL Server Documentation | Twitter: @vivek_msft)


    NOTE: Please remember to appropriately vote a post as "helpful" or mark as "answer" to help the community.


    Tuesday, September 24, 2013 8:55 AM
  • I think we do have more control on SSIS package and create a SSIS package using DQS cleansing task . http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/jj819740.aspx

    Hope it will help.

    Friday, September 27, 2013 9:58 AM
  • Hi Preeti,

    If you open SSIS projects in DQS Client, even they have the same limitation. SSIS projects open at the interactive cleansing stage (Manage View and Results tab) in DQS Client. You cannot go to the Cleanse or Map tabs. You can only go to the Export tab by clicking Next.

    For more information, see Open Integration Services Project in Data Quality Client.

    Thanks
    Vivek
    (SQL Server Documentation | Twitter: @vivek_msft)


    NOTE: Please remember to appropriately vote a post as "helpful" or mark as "answer" to help the community.


    Friday, September 27, 2013 10:02 PM
  • Once you finish a DQS project by clicking Finish in the Export stage, you cannot change/modify the DQS project in terms of changing the mapping or selecting another KB to cleanse. You can only open the DQS project to review the results in the Manage and view results stage and then Export the resultant data.

    If you want to be able to change a DQS project later or to start over again, you must not click Finish in the Export stage. Instead after exporting the results, click Close to just close the DQS project.

    Yes, it looks like it really works like this.

    However can you please explain why it was implemented this way? What kind of goal was targeted by not allowing user to modify his project later? What if user has completed series of cleanings and decided he can finish project at this point. But then 1 year later he needs to do similar cleanings, this time with a bit different set of columns.

    Wednesday, October 02, 2013 4:09 AM