none
registering HttpListener for a user

Question

• Need to register HttpListener so as to run the worker role in elevated permission.

I have been setting up a small program to record details being scanned in from a barcode scanner, the program runs and works well if I am an Administrator on the PC but if I am the normal User logged in to the PC the program comes up with the following message.

Error Message > System.Net.HttpListenerException (0x80004005): Failed to listen on prefix

I have found out that the HttpListener must be given admin privileges before it will work, but cannot find any details on what to do to register it.

I have included a small section from a web page were they discuss the problem but is in or for Azure and use a "csdef" file and I need this written in VB.net (2013), I am not storing it in the cloud or accessing the internet with the program. 

RavenDB registers HTTPListener.To register HttpListener you need admin previledges. However, worker role by default does not have admin previledges.

In order to run the worker role with admin privileges, modify the csdef file and add the following:
    <Runtime executionContext ="elevated" />
    This makes the worker role run under elevated permission and hence it is able to register httplistener.

Sample csdef file:
    < ?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"? >
    < ServiceDefinition name="WindowsAzureProject6"xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/ServiceHosting/2008/10/ServiceDefinition" >
      < WorkerRole name="WorkerRole1" vmsize="Small" >
        < Runtime executionContext ="elevated" />
        < Imports >

The key take away is that if you want to register HttpListener, run the worker role in elevated permission.

What I need to do is to find out what has to be done and where to what file etc. so as to allow the program elevated privileges so as to run?

I hope someone may be able to supply some assistance as it urgent that I find a fix.