Windows 8 Start Button

General discussion

• I'm not sure why the admins chose to close THE most active thread here, but they asked that we open another one to continue the discussion, so here it is.

I'm a developer, and I'm looking at the Windows 8 Developer Preview.

Windows 8 is pretty loudly making the statement that this is how we're supposed to work (note, I did not say play) from here into the future:

1.  Click Start.

2.  The screen is replaced by the Metro interface, which instantly hides the entire Aero Desktop and all our apps, word processors, web pages, etc.

3.  Select an application, which may or may not be a Metro application, by poking the screen.

4.  Assuming it's a Metro application it comes up full-screen, with 48 point type, and we fool with it for a while.

5.  Then we CANNOT close it when we're done, but rather we have to do Alt-Tab or a gesture or something to get back to our desktop, where we start all over again.

Does ANYONE think this is really how people who need to use computers to do real, serious work want it to be?

Steven Sinofsky has stated that we're all used to jumping from disparate web page to web page already, so clearly we can adapt to anything the system throws up in front of us, and of course it follows that we need to see less on the screen at any one time.  Did he forget that not everyone is using a computer to surf the web?

Maybe Microsoft makes more money from 400 million casual users than from 100 million who use Windows to do real work, and figures they could eclipse the latter figure entirely by getting another 100+ million kids or whomever to use it on their handheld devices...

Is this a clear signal that Microsoft no longer wants to be in the Operating System business for real computers?

I have a suggestion for a new name for the product:  Microsoft Window 8.

-Noel

Friday, September 16, 2011 5:08 PM

All replies