none
SP and Local Temp Table

Question

• Hi Everyone,

This is my first time doing something like this and would like to know if I'm doing it correctly.  I need to create a local #temp table and then insert some values in it.  I also need to check if the  record already exist and do an update statement.  I wrote the below Store Procedure but I'm not sure how SQL handle #temp table.  Do I have to perform a check before creating a #temp table to see if it already exist or will SQL  ignore the creation if it already exist? During the user created session, he might be inserting or updating the  #temp table several times.

ALTER PROCEDURE dbo.usp_AppsCreateScratchTempTable
    @RaceDate datetime,
    @HorseName nvarchar(30),
    @RaceNo nvarchar(2),
    @TrackName nvarchar(3),
    @Scratch bit

AS
    BEGIN
    	-- SET NOCOUNT ON added to prevent extra result sets from
    	-- interfering with SELECT statements.
    	SET NOCOUNT ON;

-- SQL statements for procedure herew

create table #temp_Scratch
    (
     [Race_Date] nvarchar(30) null,
     [Track] nvarchar(3) null,
     [Race_No] nvarchar(2) null,
     [Horse_Name] nvarchar(30) null,
     [Scratch] bit
    )

END
    IF NOT EXISTS(SELECT * FROM #temp_Scratch Where Race_Date=@RaceDate and Track=@TrackName
    and Race_No=@RaceNo and Horse_Name=@HorseName)
    BEGIN
    Insert Into #temp_Scratch (Race_Date, Track, Race_No, Horse_Name, Scratch)
    Values(@RaceDate, @TrackName, @RaceNo, @HorseName, @Scratch)
    END
    Else
    BEGIN
    Update #temp_Scratch
    Set Scratch=@Scratch
    Where Race_Date=@RaceDate and Track=@TrackName
    and Race_No=@RaceNo and Horse_Name=@HorseName
    END

Tuesday, October 29, 2013 3:02 PM

Answers

• Hi Tom,

I am not convinced that #temptable per user is a good idea.

I would go for a more stable solution: shared permanent table with user id column such as cookie id if any.

Kalman Toth Database & OLAP Architect IPAD SELECT Query Video Tutorial 3.5 Hours