none
Check boxes not working in automation

Question

• I am new to VS, only two weeks working with it.  I am a QA analyst, not a developer, though I am reasonably good at following code and at debugging using an IDE.

Using VS 2012 Premium I have created a Coded UI Test to test a native C# application produced by our developers.  The application works fine manually, but when it is run in automation there are some check boxes that are not working at all.

The generated high-level code looks like:

this.UIMap.TestHideDvdPlayer();
    this.UIMap.AssertDvdPlayerCheckbox1NotChecked();

When I run the test, the assert fails and in the AUT I can see that the check box is not checked and its associated action in the AUT has not occurred.  Then of course the subsequent Assertion fails and the test fails.

When I set a breakpoint on the Assertion, I can again see that even though I have clearly executed the click of the check box (the TestHideDvdPlayer method) the check box is not checked and its associated action in the AUT has not occurred.

I even inserted a wait for 5 seconds before the Assertion, and it still fails, so it is not a simple timing issue.

I would appreciate if someone could tell me what I'm doing wrong, or if this is a bug in the AUT, or in VS?

Thanks.

Friday, September 20, 2013 3:07 PM

All replies

• Can you post the Test Failed results/message you're getting?
    Friday, September 20, 2013 3:50 PM
  • The failure reads:

Test Name: TestSmokeTest
    Test FullName: CORIOmaster_2._1_Smoke_Test.SmokeTest.TestSmokeTest
    Test Source: c:\Users\lmenard\SourceTree\coriomaster\C3\CORIOmaster\CORIOmaster 2.1 Smoke Test\CORIOmaster 2.1 Smoke Test\SmokeTest.cs : line 27
    Test Outcome: Failed
    Test Duration: 0:00:17.0349249

Result Message: Assert.AreEqual failed. Expected:<False>. Actual:<True>. DVD Player checkbox 1 is checked
    Result StackTrace: