none
Programming projects for beginners?

Question

• I am looking for a web site with a list of suggested programming projects; math and logic problems to be solved with programming.

I am well aware of the Euler Project, but after the first 10 questions, you need some serious math background or some serious programming experience to find the solution.

What I need, and what any newbie visiting this site needs, are challenging and fun problems to solve that are at the scope of the true beginner.

Any suggestions?
    Friday, April 17, 2009 1:24 PM

Answers

• Coding Cat

I have posted my assignments in a Skydrive public folder.  Let me know if the Skydrive is accessable.  i have never used it before and there is a lack of help or directions for idiots.

http://cid-c10376c3512f464d.skydrive.live.com/browse.aspx/.Public
    Monday, April 20, 2009 4:13 PM
  • To be fair, I decided to post a full list of the projects that I have been giving my Intro to Programming students. The full descriptions that I give them (all projects are assigned, and solutions are submitted through Moodle) are very detailed and read like stereo instructions. We just started the 19th project today with the introduction of branching using the Goto statement. There are four weeks until the end of the semester and we will be going from Goto to For to While to Sub programs.

Who am I? -- Displaying your first and last name as a write and writeline operation.
    Name Art -- Using writeline operations to display an ASCII art version of your name
    Oblio's Dog -- Using Turtle graphics, draw an arrow
    FreeStyle -- Using every turtle operation at least once, create your own design
    Making Variables -- Follow the descriptions to store values in variables (simple practice)
    Variables In Use -- Store favorite song, move, etc in variables; then display the values.
    Circling -- Store pi and radius in variables; use the values to find area and circumference