none
Excel 2007 Macro to Update Pivot Table Filters depending on a Cell Value

General discussion

• Hi,

I am new to VBA macros and am in need of some help.

I have an Excel 2007 Excel workbook with multiple sheets (about 10), each sheet has a Pivot table based on a different Analysis Cube but they all have a similar filter such as Curreny either Local or Sterling.

I have an initial sheet and what I want is when I change a value in a cell it needs to update the filter on each of the pivot tables on the seperate sheets.

I have done some research and am not sure if I am heading in the right direction using information supplied on this post but I just get errors.  (Unable to get PivotFields property of the PivotTable Class).  I think this post is talking about Excel 2003 and not 2007.

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/isvvba/thread/3e201dc4-de40-447d-8afb-326949826620

Any help much appreciated.

Thanks
    Giles
    • Changed type Tim Li Friday, September 18, 2009 3:26 AM no follow up
    Wednesday, September 09, 2009 8:22 PM

All replies

• Update:

I have been doing some more investigation and recording of Macro's

ActiveSheet.PivotTables("PivotTable2").PivotFields("[Currency].[Bal Currency].[Currency]").CurrentPageName = "[Currency].[Bal Currency].[Currency].&[0]

I have the above working but what I am not sure is what I now need to do to replace the .&[0] with a value past from the cell on my initial sheet as I assume that the .&[0] refers to an catorgory code or MUN value of the Analysis service cube and I have a value such as Local.

I hope that above makes sense.

Thanks
    Giles
    Wednesday, September 09, 2009 9:55 PM
  • Hello,

I'm not sure if I hit the problem, so you want to combine two strings?
    what is the result you want?

The result of  "[Currency].[Bal Currency].[Currency]"&"[0]" is "[Currency].[Bal Currency].[Currency][0]".

Thanks