none
measuring the rate, or changes in the rate, of specific events

Question

• I'm new to StreamInsight and not sure where to start with this business case.  Let's say that event A represents a click on a web advertisement.  Each click represents a new event.  What I want to display on a dashboard is the rate of clicks in x/t, or some configured number of clicks, x, per some configured time period, x.  For instance, I might not want to see a change in click rate of less than 100 clicks per second.  Vertical steps in my dashboard chart might, then, be 100 clicks per step.  If the rate goes down 100 clicks per second, my line chart drops by one vertical step.

So I want to count events over time periods.  

Can you provide some hints or keywords that will point me in the right direction so I can search it out?  

Thanks,

Dale

Wednesday, October 16, 2013 5:35 AM

Answers

• Hey Dale,

There are a number of approaches you could take here.

1. Use a count window with a time-sensitive User Defined Aggregate (UDA). Given your example, I would set my count window to be 100 events. Then in my UDA, I would take the number of events (100) and divide that by the duration of the window (start time minus end time). Then return that value.

2. Use a hopping window with a time-sensitive UDA. The hopping window will be useful if you want to check the event rate at a set interval. Given your example, I would set my hopping window to be 1 second. Then with a UDA I would divide the number of events in the window by the duration of the window to get the event rate.

3. The third way (and probably the way you want to do it) would be with snapshot windows. Given your example, I would extend the lifetime of each click event by 1 second and then with a snapshot window, count the number of events in the window.

Take a look at Count WindowsHopping Windows and Snapshot Windows.

• Marked as answer by Dale2K9 Wednesday, October 16, 2013 3:19 PM
    Wednesday, October 16, 2013 2:14 PM