none
Workflow History Purge After 60 days

    Question

  • I know that the workflow history gets purged after 60 days but does that mean the Task items in the Tasks list associated with that workflow will also be deleted? What are the lists that get affected?

    Thank You,
    Nalla Paiyan
    Thursday, February 19, 2009 5:50 PM

Answers

  • Hello Nalla,

     

    Paul’s right. This is a by-design behavior that SharePoint will automatically clean up the workflow history after 60 days.

     

    You could also disable the automatic cleanup of workflow history by the following steps:

     

    1.       From Central Administration, click the Operations tab on the top navigation bar.

    2.       On the Operations page, in the Global Configuration section, click Timer job definitions.

    3.       On the Timer Job Definitions page, click Workflow Auto Cleanup to edit the appropriate timer job.

    4.       On the Edit Timer Job page, click Disable and then click OK to disable the Workflow Auto Cleanup feature.

     

    Hope it helps. Thanks.

     

    Best Regards,

    Lionel

    • Marked as answer by Nalla Paiyan Monday, February 23, 2009 5:43 PM
    Monday, February 23, 2009 1:48 AM

All replies

  • Just the workflow history is purged as far as I know.
    --Paul Galvin of EMC Consulting, New York area Microsoft MVP - SharePoint Blogging @ http://feeds.feedburner.com/PaulGalvinsSharepointSpace Twitter @ http://www.twitter.com/pagalvin
    Friday, February 20, 2009 1:17 AM
  • Hello Nalla,

     

    Paul’s right. This is a by-design behavior that SharePoint will automatically clean up the workflow history after 60 days.

     

    You could also disable the automatic cleanup of workflow history by the following steps:

     

    1.       From Central Administration, click the Operations tab on the top navigation bar.

    2.       On the Operations page, in the Global Configuration section, click Timer job definitions.

    3.       On the Timer Job Definitions page, click Workflow Auto Cleanup to edit the appropriate timer job.

    4.       On the Edit Timer Job page, click Disable and then click OK to disable the Workflow Auto Cleanup feature.

     

    Hope it helps. Thanks.

     

    Best Regards,

    Lionel

    • Marked as answer by Nalla Paiyan Monday, February 23, 2009 5:43 PM
    Monday, February 23, 2009 1:48 AM
  • Thank you Paul and Lionel. Great info, helped me a lot.
    Monday, February 23, 2009 5:39 PM
  • This program is a workaround for Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007

    * bug #19849, where the AutoCleanupDays is set to 60 by default and by design

    * in MOSS installations. This program gives the customer the oppotunity to

    * change this number.

    * Workflow histories would not show after 60 days by default.

    for example that.

    SPTimer schedule in the form of any one of the following schedules is considered to be valid:
    • "Every 5 minutes between 0 and 59"
    • "Hourly between 0 and 59"
    • "Daily at 15:00:00"
    • "Weekly between Fri 22:00:00 and Sun 06:00:00"
    • "Monthly at 15 15:00:00"
    • "Yearly at Jan 1 15:00:00"


    Deepesh Yevle MCTS

    Thursday, August 30, 2012 9:12 AM