FTP Error 550

Question

• Hello... I'm a newbie programming in .NET C#  having trouble uploading files to an FTP Server. I use the background worker to upload the files.
    What the program does is just upload files selected by the user to a static ftp server.
    The first selected files are sent well, but when the program finishes the first files, I give the user the option to go back and select some more files to send, and then it's when the 550 error happens.
    I can't figure why this happens because the filename is right and doesn't exist in the server; the path is right, the user has access.

The function that uploads is pasted in the following URL:
    http://www.wilcob.com/Wilco/Pastecode/5133/showpaste.aspx

I could use some help, and I welcome all attempts.
    Thanks.
    Friday, August 31, 2007 1:25 AM

Answers

• You can copy/paste the results from the trace log and we'll take a look.

If you're uploading, then 550 means that the path is not correct.

I looked at your code and this line jumped at me:

string uri = "ftp://" + ftpServerIP + "/" + ftpPath + filename;

Does ftpPath end with "/"? If not you have to add it the way add after ftpServerIP.

Mariya

Wednesday, September 05, 2007 5:01 AM
  • Finally found the problem. Can't understand how I couldn't see it in the first place.
    The problem was indeed the ftpPath but it was not the slashes. It was an concatenation that wasn't on the code I've posted.
    Now the problem is solved. Thank you all.
    Wednesday, September 05, 2007 3:30 PM

All replies

• You'll have to verify the granted user rights, because error 550 means that the user does not have sufficient priviliges...
    Friday, August 31, 2007 6:01 AM
  • The user rights are OK. Just think... if I can upload the first files without a problem why would it be a user rights problem.
    Friday, August 31, 2007 10:05 AM