none
How to install 'NETCFv35.Messages.ENU.wm.cab'...

Question

• I'm new to programming in VS and .NET Compact Framework 3.5.

I've found that I need to install NETCFv35.Messages.ENU.wm.cab in order to get better error message descriptions, how exactly is this done?

Does the .cab need to be installed directly to the phone or on the production machine - I'm a little confused with this.

Any help you can provide would begreat.

Thanks,
    Saturday, March 08, 2008 10:58 PM

Answers

• Hi tiger.woods
    See this link 
    http://blogs.msdn.com/martijnh/archive/2008/01/03/fixing-exception-messages-on-the-net-compact-framework-3-5.aspx

maybe this help you!!!1

Monday, March 10, 2008 9:22 PM

All replies

• CAB files need to be installed directly on the phone. So you should copy this CAB file to the device and click on it. CAB should be on your development machine as VS installs NETCF SDK which contains this CAB among other things. Search your hard drive to find it.

Also see this for basic deployment patterns for devices – you would probably need to use CABs to ship your application eventually.

Sunday, March 09, 2008 1:03 AM
  • Since this is running in the Cellular Replicator that doesn't make sense, my phone isn't even attached... how would it possibly be able to report on error meassages??

TW,

Sunday, March 09, 2008 1:44 AM
  • What's "Cellular Replicator"? In any case CAB file should be installed on whatever application is running on.

Sunday, March 09, 2008 3:35 AM
  • It's part of the WindowsMobile SDK for developing applications for cell phones.

When deploying an application in a test environment for a WM6 device the application can be ran on a Windows Mobile Emulator or what I was calling a "Cellular Replicator", am I making any sense?

Are you familiar with the file NETCFv35.Messages.ENU.wm.cab and how to install it for development use?

Thanks,
    Sunday, March 09, 2008 1:53 PM