none
Commenting out lines in XML

Question

• How can I allow for "-" or "--" to be allowed inside a comment block?

I have attributes in my elemnts that contain a string identifier.  That string identifier may be "G*X*-----**T" as an example.  If I want to comment out a "node", and put - `<!--` before the line that contains the above mentioned attribute, and `-->` after the line, I get an exception from System.XML.XmlReader  :

An XML comment cannot contain '--', and '-' cannot be the last character

This is ridiculous.  Whatever is between an <!-- and a --> should just be outright ignored.  This also says the parser is slow, and parses unecessary information.  The data between the <!-- and the --> should be outright ignored.

Please understand, I'm a developer and am forced into using certain technologies, like XML.  I don't like it, but HAVE to use it, so please, bear with my frustration.  I could do things much simpler without XML, but certain people < *cough* management *cough* > get excited because they read up on something technical( which they shouldn't ) and think they have the next brilliant idea( I'm sorry for using "brilliant idea" and "manager" in the same sentence, it'll never happen again. ).

Thanks in advance for any help.

Wednesday, August 22, 2007 5:55 PM

Answers

• You can't.  XML doesn't allow comments to include a hyphen followed by another hyphen.  The restriction is there for compatibility with SGML.  From section 2.5 of the XML 1.0 recommendation (http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-xml/#sec-comments):