Specifying TaskCreationOptions in CTP TaskEx methods

Question

• Hey, I was wondering if anyone could help me with a question I'm having.

I'm planning to design a large system that I feel will really benefit from these new language features, and certain convenience methods currently offered in TaskEx. My question is this:

Is it likely that the convenience methods (such as TaskEx.Delay) that ultimately instantiate Tasks and return them, in the final release, will contain overloads where we can specify TaskCreationOptions ? I am also curious if this will be possible for anything where the TPL automatically creates the Task object it returns to you.

If not, is there some way to set this after the instantiation of the Task object that I'm unaware of (it seems unlikely, by the "Creation" part of the name)? I am still somewhat new to the TPL; I see the ability to specify TaskCreationOptions, (particularly the LongRunning value) as something that would be beneficial to the performance of my system.

Thanks

Wednesday, April 25, 2012 6:11 AM

Answers

• You're right that when you write async method, the Task is created for you automatically.

But if you have an async method that runs long, because it's awaiting something (like downloading a big file), then it doesn't use any threads while it's waiting. So if you could somehow specify to create a new Thread for this method, that would be less efficient.

If you have an async method that is long running because it performs some synchronous operation (CPU-bound computation, or some operation that doesn't have asynchronous version), then it might make sense to run the synchronous part in its own LongRunning Task. Or you could run the whole method in a LongRunning Task, without using async at all. But I think doing this would be more performant only in rare cases.