Run Windows application from Command Prompt

Question

•  

Hi

I am new to programming in Visual Basic and need some assistance. I have Visual Studio 2008 and I have created a Windows VB Application. Basically I have one form that runs some external applications like diskpart and others.

I have succesfully run these from within the VS2008 and also after installing the application on my development workstation. Now what I need to do is launch it from a command prompt windows.

If I type Notepad from the command prompt it launches notepad, but when I try my application I just get the prompt again.

Can anyone assist please?

Thanks

Thursday, February 14, 2008 11:40 AM

Answers

• It will always work to launch your application from the command prompt if your command window is in the right folder where your executeable is or if you provide the fill path together with the command like

C:\> D:\MyFiles\Something\This\myApp.exe

If you want to have myApp.exe work regardless of the folder you are in and without a path you have eigther to copy your executeable to a known search path or add the path of your executeable to the known search paths found in Control Panel --> System ---> Advanced --> Environment Variables --> System Variables

Find the entry for PATH in this list and either edit it or copy your exe to one of the paths existing in this list.

Pure oldschool DOS-knowledge mate Wink

Thursday, February 14, 2008 1:47 PM
  • The normal command prompt won't work.  .NET exe files are NOT true exe files, but really MSIL files (intermediate language) that will not run without the JIT (Just In Time) compiler available with the CLR that is part of .NET. 

You need to use the special command prompt that comes with Visual Studio.  This will access the JIT compiler that translates MSIL into machine code that will run on the destination computer.  Click on Start/Programs/Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 (or 2008)/ Visual Studio Tools/Visual Studio 2005 (or 2008) Command Prompt