none
Can't access Internet Options and can't download anything

Question

• I tried to download the Adobe FlashPlayer and it wouldn't download and when I searched for an answer for that problem, I found out that the problem may lie in IE7.  I uninstalled it and did a few other quick fixes that I found and nothing worked.  Now I can't reinstall IE7 or anything else.  I can't download anything, can't access Internet options because the menu bar (Favorites, tools, etc) is gone.  When I try to access internet options through the control panel, a little box comes up and then disappears.  This is my first time posting so I hope someone has an answer for me.  Thanks for looking.

Thursday, July 10, 2008 3:36 AM

All replies

• I downloaded IE8 beta, which would load but couldn't reach the internet. So, I removed it using a 'Restore' rollback. It brought back IE7, but without menus or right-mouse functionality. I rolled back to an earlier 'Restore' point, which made matters even worse! IE7 flashes momentarily on the screen but refuses to load, and has no menus.

I'm experiencing exactly the same behavior that tonjiat2001 is. I can't download anything. I can't reinstall IE7 because I don't have a disc. I can't access Internet Options through Control Panel. A little gray box flashes quickly, too quickly to read, when I try. At the suggestion of the IE7 troubleshooter on Microsoft's 'Get It Now' site, I tried to access Internet Options through the DOS command line. That didn't work either.

Can anyone help me?

• Proposed as answer by fernbar4 Friday, May 04, 2012 4:22 PM
    Wednesday, September 24, 2008 4:23 PM
  • I have exactly the same problem for exactly the same reason.  Did you ever get an answer?

• Proposed as answer by Edgar0096 Saturday, December 18, 2010 7:39 AM
    Saturday, November 01, 2008 7:46 PM
  • Sorry, Rubyflash, I never found a satisfactory solution!