DllImport of 32-Bit dlls

Question

• Hi guys,

I am a real newbie on 64-Bit progr. so my question might sound a little stupid.

I have a VB.NET project which refered to a 32-Bit dll via COM-Interop.

I migrated the project and the COM invocation does not work anymore. I tried several compiler settings (anyCPU, x86) but nothing helped.

Then I found in my old C# book a method called DllImport (System.Runtime.InteropServices)

I declared the dll as follows:

<DllImport("fcvb.dll", CharSet:=CharSet.Auto)> _

Function dllBIN2_iv(ByVal price_u As Double, ByVal ex As Double, ByVal d_exp As Double, ByVal d_v As Double, ByVal price As Double, ByVal rate_ann As Double, ByVal acc_rate As Integer, ByVal cost_hldg As Double, ByVal acc_cost_hldg As Integer, ByVal option_type As Integer, ByVal iter As Integer, ByRef return_vlty_imp As Double) As Integer

End Function

When calling the Dll I got f... in the middle of the process saying:

errMsg = "System.BadImageFormatException: An attempt was made to load a program with an incorrect format. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007000B)
       at Wcr_.NET_2005.Module1.dllBIN2_iv(Double price_u, Double ex, Double d_exp, Double d_v, Double price, Double rate_ann,...

I am running an AMD64-Bit Opteron with 2GIG of Mem on Windows Server 2003 (64-Bit) Standard.

Visual Studio 2005 Team Edition for SW Developers and .NET Framework 2.0

Any comments welcome I am open for both a COM wrapper .NET dll or native dll programming whatever is needed.

THNX,

Martin

Monday, February 19, 2007 2:00 PM

Answers

• 

Hi Will,

thanks for your reply. I really love this forum you get responses as quick as possible.

O.K. what I figured out was my old VB.NET (2003 x86) application used a COM object which referred to a 32-Bit dll.

I wrote a wrapper in VB 6.0 around the 32-Bit dll to make it COM able.

When I tried to register this COM object on the 64-Bit machine it did dont work. Said the dll was loaded but the entry point was not found.