How to test WCF Web Service (.svc) using VSTS 2008 Test Edition

Question

• Hi there,

I am new to the VSTS 2008 Test Edition and I am a tester without much coding skills. I am learning how to use this tool to test our WCF Web Service (file extension .svc). I have learned how to test XML Web Service with file extension (.asmx) from some articles/walkthrough on MSDN - How to: Create a Web Service Test (http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms182557.aspx).

Note that in this walkthrough you can copy the XML portion of SOAP request from the Web service description page:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>

<soap:Envelope xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xmlns:xsd="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema" xmlnsTongue Tiedoap="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/">

<soap:Body>

<CheckStatus xmlns="http://tempuri.org/">

<userName>string</userName>

<password>string</password>

<orderID>int</orderID>

</CheckStatus>

</soap:Body>

</soap:Envelope>

Our WCF Web service (.svc) does not provide such SOAP body description page and is expecting to receive byte () data type. Our developer team created a test client application to test our WCF web service. Below is its code. Hope helps explaining my problem:

Protected Sub Page_Load(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Me.Load

Try

'Load in the XML message as an XDocument

Dim Message As XDocument = XDocument.Load("C:\Enrollments.xml")

Dim Result As String = ""

'Convert XDocument to byte array

Dim encoding As UTF8Encoding = New UTF8Encoding()

Dim Enrollments As Byte() = encoding.GetBytes(Message.ToString)

'Create a new PASIEnrollmentService, accessed thru a Web Reference

Dim S As New PASIEnrollmentService.PASIEnrollmentService

'Submit the enrollments to the Web Service

Result = S.SubmitEnrollment("SenderInfo", "CallerInfo", Enrollments)

Response.Write("Confirmation number: " & Result)

Catch ex As Exception

Response.Write("Error: " & ex.Message)

End Try

End Sub