Regular Expressions - Plz Help

Question

• Hi All,

I am new in regular expressions so please forgive my level of question.
    I have a regular expression for validating special characters in Username is:

^((\.)?([a-zA-Z0-9_-]?)(\.)?([a-zA-Z0-9_-]?)(\.)?)+$

Can anyone help me by updating the given expression so it can not accept "_" as single character (can not allow only "_" as Username) and also can not accept "_" as first and last character of Username.

Thanks in advance.

Monday, March 30, 2009 8:02 AM

Answers

• VisioGuy,
    Please look at my earlier post.  It uses "look-around" to handle the your original requirements.  If you understand how "look-around" works, you can easily my modifications to it below.  I also limited it to 30 characters and changed the pattern to simplify.  Please note, the RegularExpressionValidator will not report an error if the control's text is empty (by control design), you must separately detect and reject blank usernames.

Here's the updated pattern.

(?!^[_.-].*$)(?!^.*[_.-]$)(^[a-zA-Z0-9_.-]{1,30}$)
    Les Potter, Xalnix Corporation, Yet Another C# Blog
    • Marked as answer by VisioGuy Thursday, April 02, 2009 7:01 AM
    Wednesday, April 01, 2009 11:43 AM

All replies

• please try
    ^((\w|\d)?([a-zA-Z0-9_-]?)(\.)?([a-zA-Z0-9_-]?)(\.)?)+(\w|\d)$

HTH
    Ivo Stoykov
    • Proposed as answer by ivostoykov Monday, March 30, 2009 8:48 AM
    Monday, March 30, 2009 8:47 AM
  • I did check that expression but unfortunately it did not work (allowing to accept only single character "_" as Username and accepting "_" as first and last character in Username as well).

Any other idea?

Thanks

Monday, March 30, 2009 10:08 AM

• How do make the check?

Meanwhile a variation of the above:
    ^([^_](\.)?([a-zA-Z0-9_-]?)(\.)?([a-zA-Z0-9_-]?)(\.)(\.)?)+[^_]$
    HTH
    Ivo Stoykov
    • Proposed as answer by ivostoykov Monday, March 30, 2009 10:15 AM
    Monday, March 30, 2009 10:15 AM