"Windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file.

Question

• Hello,
    I'm new to using the C# Express Visual Studio program and need some help.
    I've created a winform and defined methods to handle some controls.  The windows forms shows fine on my XP machine so as an experiment I copied the executalbe file from the ...bin/debug/ folder to 2 different XP machines to see I could run the program on the other machines.  Each of these other machines has the .NET 3.5 Bootstrap program installed on it.
    On Machine 1 the program, Name1.exe executed OK with the window openning up and most controls working fine.
    On Machine 2 the proram, Name1.exe gives the following message:

"Windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file. You must not have the appropriate permissions to access the item."

Any idea what would cause this or how to fix it?

It's very confusing to me because .NET 3.5 is installed on both machines so I thought it would work.

Monday, May 19, 2008 2:51 PM

Answers

• Hi, Phil,

Based on your detail description, I think your Windows Form application met some problem (showing an error) when running on some different PC, while it did work well in another one.  Be free to correct me, if there is any misunderstanding here.

According to your description and testing, I don’t think there is anything wrong using e-mail to send the executable file to another computer either.  Actually, I think the error may be caused by some file permission problem, some remote file the application cannot access or other software closed the running door of your application.

Did your application use any source from remote files or dll through network?  Or is there any software like anti-virus, firewall or spyware on the Machine 2 (the computer displayed the error message), which keep your application from running normally?