Help with username and password validation

Question

• Hi There,

I am very new to VB 2008 Express Edition and have been playing around with it for the past few days. I have create some forms and a database with the following tables. I have gone through all the videos for VB and SQL Server at the Learning Centre. It's after viewing them that gave me the project I want to work on. So please can someone help me.

Forms

1. Login Page
    2. Main Page
    3. Error Page

Tables

1. TblCustomers
    2. TblProducts
    3. TblUsers

I have a record created in the TblUsers table username field {nchar(10)} "Joe" with password field {nchar(10)} "password".

I want the login form to validate username and it's corresponding password from the TblUsers table from my database. If credentials incorrect the Error page should display and ok btn should take me back to Login Page. If successful then after closing the login page, the Main page should load up.

Could someone please help me

Thanks in Advance for your help

Dan 

Friday, December 07, 2007 12:58 PM

Answers

• Sorry, the threads tend to expand.

Here is an example to check a login

It is very quick and clean.  And it will eliminate a bunch of designer "junk"

if you take a look at the red underlined words:

yourconnectionstring is a setting location created by the designer - ( if you place your cursor after the g and hit backspace, it will bring up intellisense and you can choose your connection string setting)

users is the table name

username and password are columns in the table

nvarchar, 50    is the column datatype and the maximum character length

Public Class UserLoginForm

Dim user_connection As SqlClient.SqlConnection

Dim user_reader As SqlClient.SqlDataReader

Dim user_command As SqlClient.SqlCommand

Dim select_string As String = Nothing

Private Sub OK_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles OK.Click

If Me.UsernameTextBox.Text = "" Or Me.PasswordTextBox.Text = "" Then