Load Testing - User Load vs. Iteration

Question

• Hi,

I was reading one of the posts in this forum about some violations. I came across with a reply from Edwer Fang saying:

"...If you specify the length of load test to be 1 iteration, then there will be one 1 web test run during load test running, even if you set user load to 10, it will not run 1 web test for each user. The total number of web test running is 1..."

I'm completely confused by this comment. I'm new to to load testing.

If only 1 web test is run during the load test when the iteration is set to 1, then what is the point to have 10 virtual users? I thought the point of load test is to have to 10 virtual users to run the same/mixed web test(s) concurrently. Then, "... it will not run 1 web test for each user ...", what does this mean?

Could someone who is good at load testing give some discussions on user load and iteration. Really appreciated.

Wednesday, November 03, 2010 4:53 PM

Answers

All replies

• Maybe this post will help:

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/vstswebtest/thread/b384dc59-86d4-42cb-962f-ab61673d7ce1

Setting use iterations = true and iterations = 1 and user count > 1 doesn't make sense.  I think of iterations as the maximum number of tests that will run and I pretty much never use it when load testing.

Tim
    • Marked as answer by meshushi Thursday, November 04, 2010 2:08 PM
    Wednesday, November 03, 2010 8:55 PM
  • Hi Tim,

I read the link you posted above. Something said in that link is interesting:

"..... The Run Settings -> Test Iterations property (when Use Test Iterations = True) is truly a global counter - that value is the total number of test iterations for all tests and - has nothing to do with number of users as Bill pointed out. Maybe the name of that propety should be Global Test Iterations? .... "