Conversion from VB6 to Visual Studio 2008 express

Question

• Hello all,

I've been given a VB6 project and told to re-develop in .NET using visual studio 2008 express. The only problem is I have very little Visual Studio experience!!

Is there a tool to convert from VB6 straight to Visual Studio?

Apoligies if this is not the right forum and thanks in advance for any advice or re-direction to the correct forum.

Steve

Thursday, February 26, 2009 11:39 AM

Answers

• Install  VB2008 express.  Web Developer doesn't have the upgrade wizard.
    Thursday, February 26, 2009 3:43 PM

All replies

• Yes.  VBE2008 includes the tool.  Open your project.  Don't be surprised at the number of errors.  Many of them will refer to the same thing.  Correct it once and usually a large number of errors will disappear.  You'll learn VBE as you correct the errors.
    Thursday, February 26, 2009 12:43 PM
  • Thanks John,

I did as you suggest but got the following error:

The Visual Basic .NET Upgrade Wizard is not installed on this computer.

Is there an option to switch this wizard on? I am searching to find the answer myself but if you can advise that would be great.

Thanks,

Steve
    Thursday, February 26, 2009 1:15 PM
  • I don't understand.  AFAIK it's installed when VBE is installed.  Do you show All Project Files (*.sln;*.dsw;*.vcw;*.vbproj;*.vbp) in the Open Project dialog.  When on a code page in a project, do you show Upgrade Visual Basic 6 Code on the Tools menu?  The caret has to be at a location where code can be inserted.
    Thursday, February 26, 2009 1:49 PM
  • John,

I show all project files and open a .vbp file

Then I get the error.

This may seem obvious..... I have Visual Studio Express 2008 installed; should I have any VB software installed?

All I have been given is a folder with the VB6 project and all its associated files and asked to get it working in .NET with Visual Studio.

Should I consider reinstalling Visual Studio?