none
added ID is always on the top.

Question

• I added two records into two tables with relationship.

table 1: NameId, Date, col3... (NameId has date type integer)

table 2 NameId, Date, col3..

in my stored procedure:

DECLARE @NameID int

DECLARE @date smalldatetime

SET @NameID = (SELECT MAX(NameID) FROM dbo.table1)
    SET @date = (SELECT Date FROM dbo.table1 WHERE NameID = @NameID)

INSERT INTO dbo.table2([NameID], [Date], [col3]) VALUES(@NameID, @date, @col3)

procedure can be executed without problems. But the record I added into table2 is alway on the top (first row) which should be the last one in the table.

Do I miss the datatype conversion?  How to fix it?

Thanks.

I am very new in this field. Your help is appreciated.

Tuesday, July 02, 2013 3:43 PM

Answers

• A key concept in database development is to think of a table of an unordered set of rows rather than like rows in a spreadsheet, where rows are ordered.  An RDBMS like SQL Server stores and retrieve rows as efficiently as possible.  The only way to guarantee results are returned in order is with an ORDER BY clause (in your case, ORDER BY NameID).

You can create an index on the column(s) in SQL Server so that SQL Server maintains a logically ordered b-tree index to facilitate locating and sorting by index key.  But it is still required to specify ORDER BY to guarantee result ordering because the contract is an unordered result set unless otherwise specified.

Dan Guzman, SQL Server MVP, http://www.dbdelta.com

• Proposed as answer by Kalman TothModerator Wednesday, July 03, 2013 12:45 PM
    • Marked as answer by 98108 Wednesday, July 03, 2013 8:33 PM
    Wednesday, July 03, 2013 12:26 PM

All replies

• Hello,

If table2 is a heap and there is no order by clause in the select query when you retrieve the data then the data will come back in an unordered and random way. You can use an order by clause or put a clustered index to force order.

-Sean

Sean Gallardy | Blog | Twitter