ASP.net C#, sending email error-the client was not authenticated.

Question

• Hi, everyone:

Hope I can get some help here. I've been working on this problem for two days and checked all the resources, but no luck.

I'm a beginner of ASP.net C#. and recently working on an application try to send out emails. Below is my code and error message I got: (I used system.net .mail)

/////////
    code in web.config
    <add key="MailServer" value="68.142.198.11"/>

<add key="EnableErrorLogEmail" value="false"/>

<add key="ErrorLogEmail" value="XXX@sbcglobal.com"/>

<add key="ProductsPerPage" value="6"

//////code in utilities.cs

public
    static void SendMail(string from, string to, string subject, string body)

{

//Create mail message

MailMessage mailMessage = new MailMessage(from, to, subject, body);

//Configure mail client

SmtpClient mailClient = new SmtpClient(ArtHouseConfiguration.MailServer);

//Send mail

NetworkCredential oCredential = new NetworkCredential("XXXX", "XXX");

mailClient.Host = "68.142.198.11";

mailClient.UseDefaultCredentials = false;

mailClient.Credentials = oCredential;

mailClient.DeliveryMethod = SmtpDeliveryMethod.Network;

mailClient.Send(mailMessage);
    }

///ERROR I Got

The SMTP server requires a secure connection or the client was not authenticated. The server response was: authentication required

can any expert tell me what's the problem? thanks a lot.

Tuesday, January 23, 2007 10:17 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Try this,

1. Use port 587 - give it a try (somewhere i seen that it works with this port fine) - this happens in gmail smtp too... i hope it will solve your problem,
    Refer:
    http://help.yahoo.com/help/us/bizmail/pop/pop-27.html - this link says
    SMTP Port