The file________ is not a valid image file ??? HELP

Question

• I only started playing with Deep Zoom a couple of days ago and everything had been going great.

2 DAYS LATER:  Everytime I try to "add image" (any image) i get the error message "The file________ is not a valid image file" , regardless of file size or whether its a .jpg .tiff .png etc.... I tried uninstalling and re-installing, rebooting etc.... nothing seems to stop the problem.

Any ideas?

Cheers
    G.
    Wednesday, December 31, 2008 2:55 AM

All replies

• Hi G,
    Are you opening an existing project or creating a project from scratch?

Thanks,
    Kirupa
    Sunday, January 11, 2009 5:41 AM
  • either.... same problem for both.

Cheers
    Sunday, January 11, 2009 8:42 AM
  • I am experiencing the same problem.  I can no longer import even files that I have previously imported into other projects with no problem.  Any ideas?

-Mike
    Friday, January 16, 2009 7:54 AM
  • Me too, same exact thing...worked yesterday. Today is a no go

Help Please

Thanks

Friday, January 16, 2009 3:23 PM
  • More info to hopefully help:

I'm running Vista Ultimate 64, SP1.

When I attempt to import an image, it works for a while, then ultimately gives the error message.  When I look in the directory for the project, in '/Working Data', I can see that several of the tiles have been created.  Sometimes it appears that all of the tiles in the numerical folders have been created, whereas sometimes the last few folders (like /12 - /15) are empty.

I attempted installing that C++ thing mentioned in the other thread reporting this problem, but it did not work.

Occasionally, maybe one out of 10+ times, for no reason I can discern, I am able to successfully import an image.  I don't think anything about the images I try is the problem, as I have tried many different file types saved with different compressions using different software (photoshop, irfanview, etc.).