none
How to extend the win mobile development certificates's valid time?

Question

• Hi all,

I am a win mobile software engineer. Now I am developmenting a software in win mobile 5/6 and it need to be signed by development certificate which is include in "Windows Mobile 6 SDK\Tools\Security\SDK Development Certificates". But the certificate in "Windows Mobile 6 SDK\Tools\Security\SDK Development Certificates" is valid from 11/5/2004 to 12/31/2009. So it has expired.
    Who does know how to get the new development certicicates or extend the valid time of it?

Thanks
    Wednesday, January 06, 2010 5:18 AM

Answers

• You need to create Your own cert and provision it during cab installation.
    Steps to achieve this:

1) Create Your own cert according to this article (You'll find most tools in VS folder)

2) Create wap-provisioning doc

3) Sign Your app / service with Your own certificate

4) Copy files to emulator and manually provision the device (through any valid app)

5) Test if everything works.

6) Create a new Setup.dll project (in C++) and apply this code:

#include "stdafx.h"
    #include "ce_setup.h"
    #include "cfgmgrapi.h"

BOOL APIENTRY DllMain(HANDLE hModule, DWORD ul_reason_for_call, LPVOID lpReserved)
    {
        return TRUE;
    }

codeINSTALL_INIT Install_Init(HWND hwndParent, BOOL fFirstCall, BOOL fPreviouslyInstalled, LPCTSTR pszInstallDir)
    {
    	LPWSTR wszOutput = NULL;
    	LPCWSTR provisioning = L"<?xml version=\"1.0\" encoding=\"utf-8\" ?>"
    						  L"<wap-provisioningdoc>"
    						  L"<characteristic type=\"CertificateStore\">"
    						  L"<characteristic type=\"Privileged Execution Trust Authorities\">"
    						  L"<characteristic type=\"[add here Your cert sh1]\">"