none
What is the difference between the MRDS and the Webots?

Question

• I am a newbie in robotics, and planning make a simulation of eel-like robot, my classmate have done it with Webots, but I would like to make it with MRDS. I have learned it one month, but I still fall into the CCR, I think it is so difficult. And till now, I have no idea about the MRDS simulation. Can it works as Webots? I am afraid that I make a wrong choice and know it after several months. Can the MRDS control the servo motor in a complex way, such as send a SIN wave signals?

And, it is said that the MRDS can control the hardware, what level? Only lego or boe-bot etc.? Can it control a SCM?

I have just studied some primary C#, and not clear about how CCR works? I have bought the Professional MRDS, but it is professional. So should I read some other books?
    Monday, June 01, 2009 12:41 AM

Answers

• This is a really difficult question to answer. Webots and MRDS are entirely different. I think the simulator in MRDS is probably better than Webots because it includes a Physics Engine, but it's hard to compare them. Developing a snake-like robot will be complicated in either simulator.

MRDS can control any sort of hardware, but you will probably need to write your own services. There are examples in the book for the SCC-32 servo controller from Lynxmotion. MRDS does not do things such as send sine waves to a servo. You would have to generate the sine wave yourself and send the commands to the servo. That's not difficult if you already have an appropriate service for the servo.

Trevor
    • Marked as answer by Tcq Tuesday, June 02, 2009 7:14 AM
    Monday, June 01, 2009 7:03 AM

All replies

• This is a really difficult question to answer. Webots and MRDS are entirely different. I think the simulator in MRDS is probably better than Webots because it includes a Physics Engine, but it's hard to compare them. Developing a snake-like robot will be complicated in either simulator.