none
Rebuild of index is taking lot of disk space and filling the User Database Log File very rapidly.

Question

• Hi,

My name is Phani, i work as a DBA for small firm, i have a question related to index rebuild maintenance plan which is scheduled for weekly once, and whenever the job runs the disk space where the log file exist is getting filled up rapidly and filling up the log file of the USER DATABASE very rapidly. I am rebuilding the indexes using the options, ONLINE=OFF and SORT_IN_TEMPDB=OFF. i am really not sure what is going wrong and where is it taking more space. Believe me once the job gets completed my log file of the user database will be 0.5TB.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks & regards,

Phani

Wednesday, August 13, 2014 11:46 PM

Answers

• Hi,

It is hard to remotely support without the option to monitor things myself :-) let's try to get some more relevant information from you. For this reason I can't recommend what to do especially on production! Therefore everything here is only options that you should use on development environment, on your own risk.

>> what is the size of the biggest index ?
    >> how many indexes do you have?
    >> what is the average size of the indexes
    >> If the number of indexes is not high then you can just post a table of: index-name, index-size

>> parallel index operations are only permitted in Enterprise Edition. This is a different from your old version.
    >> during the process, how many CPU works?
    >> can you try to use maxdop or any other way to make sure that only 1 cpu working (play with option a bit) ?

>> Can you rebuild "index by index" in different times, while the log backup come between those operation (this will limit the log growth a bit), same with data backup...

>> You can use Extended Events to capture each statement executed (sp_statement_completed event), and the actual query plan for the statement (query_post_execution_showplan event), in order to monitor.