none
How to persist data in dynamically populated dropdown listbox

Question

• Hi,

I have a browser-enabled InfoPath form with two dropdown listboxes.  Listbox #2 is bound to an XML file used as a secondary data source.  When a value is selected in Listbox #1, I dynamically populate Listbox #2.  That all works fine.

My question is: how do I save the data and selection from Listbox #2 after the form has been closed and reopened?

I tried binding Listbox #2 to a field (of the same name) from the Main data source but it wouldn't take.  There was no error message, it just wouldn't work.

I'm new to SharePoint and InfoPath, any help you can offer would be appreciated.

Thanks
    Wednesday, July 23, 2008 3:35 PM

Answers

• No, there is no special way to write to the main data source compared to a secondary data source. It is all XML you are manipulating. The only difference is that you have namespaces to consider in the Main data source, which you probably did not have in your secondary data source, so you might be violating the schema of the Main data source when you try to write XML to it right now. 

Take a look at this article; if you followed my previous instructions, you should have a repeating group in your Main data source, so can do something similar as described in the article.
    • Marked as answer by bluering Friday, July 25, 2008 4:02 PM
    Friday, July 25, 2008 2:31 AM

All replies

• bluering said:

Hi,

I have a browser-enabled InfoPath form with two dropdown listboxes.  Listbox #2 is bound to an XML file used as a secondary data source.  When a value is selected in Listbox #1, I dynamically populate Listbox #2.  That all works fine.

My question is: how do I save the data and selection from Listbox #2 after the form has been closed and reopened?

I tried binding Listbox #2 to a field (of the same name) from the Main data source but it wouldn't take.  There was no error message, it just wouldn't work.