'End If' must be preceded by a matching 'If' error

Question

• I'm very new to VB and using VB 2010 Express for my college class and am working on my third program.  I've tried this several ways and still keep getting the same 'End If' must be preceded by a matching 'If' error.  The program is supposed to evaluate 3 numbers that are input, sort and display only the highest and lowest number in its respective box.  Although a tad lengthy, I attempted to shorten it down but still get the same errors.  I understand that there will be several ways in going about getting this result, but this is the only way I am familiar with as we are only on Chapter 3 :)  Here is the code I am using:

Public Class Mod3Q12
       ' Comparing list of numbers for the highest and lowest.

Private Sub compareButton_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles compareButton.Click

Dim number1 As Integer
          Dim number2 As Integer
          Dim number3 As Integer

number1 = TextBox1.Text
          number2 = TextBox2.Text
          number3 = TextBox3.Text

If number1 > number2 And number1 > number3 Then largestresult.Text(number1)
             End If

If number2 > number1 And number2 > number3 Then largestresult.Text(number2)
             End If

If number3 > number2 And number3 > number1 Then largestresult.Text(number3)
             End If

If number1 < number2 And number1 < number3 Then smallestresult.Text(number1)
             End If

If number2 < number1 And number2 < number3 Then smallestresult.Text(number2)
             End If

If number3 < number2 And number3 < number1 Then smallestresult.Text(number3)
             End if

End Sub
    End Class

Although this is revised with the And statement, I initially broke down each If/Then statement and had upwards of 24 error messages,  12 for the statement after the Then which should point the output to the appropriate text box and the End If.

Thank you for any help and advise you can give on this.

Brian