none
Count data from a table and update the result in another table

Question

• i have a query it correctly displays output as i require. i want to update/store the output query to a table named ustate. my query is as under

SELECT Auth.nit, UC+UL+UC AS Aut, (select count(NO) from Pers where nit=Auth.nit and rOrd>4) AS Present, (SELECT COUNT(no) FROM pers WHERE nitFrom = auth.nit) AS DIn, (SELECT COUNT(no) FROM pers WHERE nitTo = auth.nit) AS DOut, Present-Dout+Din AS Held
    FROM Auth
    WHERE (((Auth.Type)='tata'))
    ORDER BY Auth.nit;

I am a System Administrator at Vadodara

Saturday, September 14, 2013 9:56 AM

Answers

• More important is how many records in [Auth] that have [Type] = "tata"?

However, if you only want to refresh this set of derived/calculated data only once a day by overnight job, I think it is better that you have the destination Table structure set up first and on the overnight job, you can run a DELETE Query to delete the old set and then the APPEND Query to add the set of up-to-date derived/calculated rows.

You can set up a Macro in Access to run the DELETE Query and then the APPEND Query, both of which use the OpenQuery Macro action.  You also want to use the SetWarnings Macro option to temporarily disable the warnings/confirmations on deletion/insertion.  Thus the Macro actions you need in sequence

SetWarnings (False/Off)

OpenQuery (DELETE Query)

OpenQuery (APPEND Query)

SetWarnings (True/On)

You can then create the Scheduled Task in the OS to open Access / database and run the Macro with the /X argument in the command-line in your OS Scheduled Task.

Van Dinh

Monday, September 16, 2013 3:19 AM

All replies

• Design the query. Then change its type to "Make Table query".

-Tom. Microsoft Access MVP

Saturday, September 14, 2013 10:22 AM
  • Done as directed and a new table was created by that. how can i update it frequently now

Saturday, September 14, 2013 1:23 PM