Application and ws written in .NET and database system written in PL/SQL. Should I go this way?

Dotaz

• Some time ago decided to write my system in .NET and database in T-SQL.

I have been using C# for at least 4-5 years and I've just started my journey in T-SQL.

I want to write db part in T-SQL because its 'the same node of technology, the same producer of software'.

No sooner had I started doing exercises with T-SQL, I realized that there is a big goal to achieve - start to learn something new all over again.

At work I had a occasion to startup my database  practise with PL/SQL and I can say, I know a lot more about it than I know about T-SQL.

But, its a different technology.. Oracle vs. Microsoft. Is it good to mix those together?

It will be my diplom system to school, so that point of view is also necessery. 

What's your opinion about it?

• Upravený jackbond 8. dubna 2012 13:58
    8. dubna 2012 13:55

Odpovědi

• There should be no problem writing code in .NET and connecting to an Oracle Database.  In NET, you would use an Oracle Driver in your NET connection statement to the Oracle Databae.  Your SQL statement are strings that would be compatable to oracle standards.

If you were using a non-Oracle driver then you may have issues.  For example using the Microsoft Jet Engine wouldn't understand the TSQL.

It is very common for people to connect to Oracle databases on windows PC, and there shouldn't be any obstacles in automatings these databases.

jdweng

• Označen jako odpověď jackbond 8. dubna 2012 19:57
    8. dubna 2012 17:44
  • Actually there was a typo in my earlier comment, i was in a rush. PL SQL Syntax is used for Oracle and TSQL for MS SQL Server. Secondly, If Syntax knowledge is an argument then go with any that feel you more comfortable. .Net supports oracle and you can use oracle driver for .Net to perform DB operations.

Ovais Mehboob

8. dubna 2012 18:59

Všechny reakce