VENTAS: 1-800-867-1389

none
Refresh Cache on schedule

Pregunta

• I am very new to Azure, and am using the free account for MSDN subscribers. I want to have a single service which will run constantly (I think I can run a "small" instance 24/7 with the free hours).

The service will download data from an external resource, format it nicely, and then provide that to my application when it requests it. But I need this to be VERY low latency. So I don't want to use the usual way of caching where when there is a request it check if the cache is expired and reloads it - I want the cache to always be up to date.

So is it possible that I can give it a method to run every time any cached object expires (regardless of whether there is an app requesting this) where I will update it?

Also, I see that data coming in is not metered, so constantly refreshing the cache from an external resource should be fine. It's a small amount anyway, and only every 10 minutes or so.

Thanks!

viernes, 13 de abril de 2012 23:25

Respuestas

• Hi,

Yes, but no need two hosted service in Windows Azure Mangement Portal, just deploy it as a work role in cloud application, but i do not think it's a good choice to do that, because if your application will be accessed frequently, the requests will be nearly in the same time, it's may not works as experts. But it's not so frequent, you can have a try.

Hope this helps.

Please mark the replies as answers if they help or unmark if not. If you have any feedback about my replies, please contact msdnmg@microsoft.com Microsoft One Code Framework

sábado, 14 de abril de 2012 11:04
    Moderador

Todas las respuestas

• Hi,